God is good, wait on Him!

God is Good If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you probably remember my post from a few months back entitled “My Friend Lazarus.” If not I’ll link it HERE so you can go read it and get a little bit of a back story on my situation and have a better understanding before you read this.

I’ve been searching for a job for what seems like FOREVER. Sure, there were plenty of jobs that I could have applied to and been employed before this point, I’ll admit that. Fast food, hostess positions, retail, etc. were all possibilities. I even put in apps for a few of those positions just to try to keep my options open, but nothing ever came of them. The thing with my job search is I was being extremely picky and rather stubborn, I refused to settle, continually put my trust in God, and waited on His plans and timing. I didn’t want to work Sundays. I’m so involved with my little church and it just wasn’t something I was willing to give up. Singing on praise team, weekly rehearsals with my accompanist so she and I can play during service as often as possible, (in case you missed it at the top of my page, I’m a clarinet player…) nearly everything that makes me a happy girl is wrapped up in my Sunday morning activities. So, I was obviously looking for a job that would allow me to continue those things.

Most people, upon finding out that I was being THAT picky about employment, would tell me that I was probably going to have to compromise and work some Sundays, or even ALL Sundays for awhile until I gained seniority in my place of work. No, I wasn’t having it, I couldn’t imagine my life without being in church Sunday mornings, even just for a little while. I waited, prayed like crazy, and continued to be picky. Guess who got a job today that doesn’t require me to give up my Sundays and allows me to continue teaching clarinet on the weekends? Yep, this girl! As an added bonus, it’s doing something I love!

It just goes to show, if you trust in the Lord and wait patiently on His timing, He WILL provide. You’ll be placed where He wants you when and only when He wants you there! You don’t have to settle for anything less than God’s best for your life! He’s slowly beginning to piece mine back together and I’m beyond excited to see what He has in store for me next!

“Wait for the Lord;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the Lord.”

Psalm 27:14 (NIV) 

2 thoughts on “God is good, wait on Him!

  1. Hi Amanda! I have had a wonderful time reading through your posts this afternoon. You are obviously a very gifted young woman who is committed to Christ. I appreciate your love and application of the Word. Congratulations on your new job, and I will be praying for you as you settle in with it. I’m looking forward to following your blog!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and prayers! I pray constantly that my blog will reach even just one person that needs to hear these words, or that my testimony/reflections on God’s Word will be that tiny nudge for someone in need. It’s such a blessing to read comments like yours!

Leave a Reply

