God’s Assurance through Ruth and Boaz

Ruth

The Lord has taken me through the book of Ruth three times in the last few months. I figured He was trying to reveal something to me or get an important point across, so of course I obeyed and read it again and again. I thought maybe He was going to use Ruth and Boaz in some way to teach me about relationships, or waiting on Him, you know, the usual stuff. What I actually found, was a lot deeper than any of those points.

Disclaimer: I’m not at all saying that these observations/interpretations line up with what the Bible scholars have to say, they’re just what I’m seeing and the thoughts that are wandering through my brain as I read God’s Word.

In the midst of my third time through Ruth, I was reading the words on the page, but seeing the story from a completely different point of view. Especially once I hit chapter two. Somewhere around verses eight through ten Boaz is speaking to Ruth about not leaving his field to go gather grain elsewhere, that he’ll protect her and make sure she has everything she needs right there.

(8) Then Boaz said to Ruth, “You will listen, my daughter, will you not? Do not go to glean in another field, nor go from here, but stay close by my young women. (9) Let your eyes be on the field which they reap, and go after them. Have I not commanded the young men not to touch you? And when you are thirsty, go to the vessels and drink from what the young men have drawn.”

Ruth’s response? 

(10) So she fell on her face, bowed down to the ground, and said to him, “Why have I found favor in your eyes, that you should take notice of me, since I am a foreigner?”

As I read, I wasn’t reading that as Boaz and Ruth communicating. All I could hear was the Lord using that exchange to reassure me through Boaz of His presence and protection in my life. 

I heard it as something like this-

And the Lord said to me, “you will listen My daughter, will you not? Do not look to man or any other idol. Stay close to Me, let your eyes be on the blessings that place in your life and go after MY will for you. Have I not commanded the devil not to touch you? When you are thirsty, come to Me. My Word will be living water and I will quench your thirst…

My response?

She fell on her face, bowed down to the ground and said to Him, “Why have I found favor in Your eyes, that You should take notice of me, a sinner?”

The answer?

In God’s eyes you are sin free, white as snow, cleansed by the blood of His son who died on the cross for you! He loves you, even though you’re not perfect. He knew that when He created you, that’s why He sent Jesus to die in our place so that when we die, as long as we’ve accepted Jesus, we can hang out in Heaven with Him and all those who have gone on before us.

 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

John 3:16

But now you have been united with Christ Jesus. Once you were far away from God, but now you have been brought near to him through the blood of Christ.

 Ephesians 2:13 (NLT)
*Unless otherwise noted, all Scripture references used in this post were taken from the NKJV.*
Leave a Reply

