“If it Pleases the King…”

Esther As I dove into the Scriptures this morning, I was especially drawn toward the book of Esther. So, I followed the nudge of the Holy Spirit, (of course!) flipped to it, and started reading. I was surprised at how much I was able to actually pull from this book! There were a couple of things that jumped out at me as I read.

1. We don’t have to compete to obtain grace and favor in the eyes of Jesus:

After Queen Vashti disobeyed King Xerxes, he decided that she had made a fool out of him and didn’t want other women to get word of her behavior and think that it was okay for them too to be disobedient to their husbands. So he basically banished her from the kingdom. King Xerxes then appointed officers throughout all of the provinces to gather all of the young, beautiful, virgins and bring them to Shushan to begin the process of selecting a new queen. Esther had to work to stand out from many other women in order to obtain grace and favor inn the eyes of King Xerxes.

Thankfully, Jesus isn’t looking for the prettiest, or the smartest, or even the holiest of us! There’s no competition to obtain the Grace and favor of our Heavenly Father, we already have it. If you’ve confessed your sins and asked Him into your heart and to be a part of your life, BINGO! You’ve already won!

““Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” (Romans 10:13) Every single one of us is given a chance to obtain God’s grace and favor, not just a select few Bible scholars, or pastors, or Sunday school teachers. The question is, will you take what He’s offering to you? Take on His marvelous will for your life?

That brings me to my second “Ah ha!” moment.

2.We should want to please our King:

Each time Esther (or anybody, really) approached King Xerxes with a petition, she always began with “if it pleases the king…” and continued on with her petition. Shouldn’t we have the same attitude as we approach Jesus with our wants and needs? Instead of coming to Him “Dear Lord, I NEED…” “Heavenly Father, I would really like…” “Lord, would You please…” maybe we should take a page from Esther’s book and only want something if it pleases Him. After all, He knows what’s best for us, shouldn’t we want His will for our lives over our own? I know I do! I’m positive that whatever He wants for my life is WAY cooler than anything I could ever want for myself. I want to live my life to please Him, even when those around me are living to please the world and obtain worldly possessions.

“The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I (Jesus) came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).” John 10:10 (AMP)

“You can have all this world, just give me Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

