Tide to Go and The Grace of Jesus

“What in the world do the Grace of Jesus and Tide to Go have to do with each other?” You might ask. The title got your attention, didn’t it? I thought it might! Tide to Go:JesusReally though, there is a connection, at least in my brain. I wore a white dress to church Sunday morning, I had no idea there was a coffee stain on the side of it… thankfully it was small enough that it wasn’t screaming “LOOK AT ME! MANDI SPILLED COFFEE ALL OVER ME LAST MONTH!” (Completely forgot about that incident…) Anyway, I got home and my grandma pointed it out to me. “It’s okay, I’ll just throw it in with a load of whites and some bleach, all will be fixed!” Then I read the tag… “Hand wash only, DO NOT BLEACH,” now what am I supposed to do… Later, as I was digging through drawers trying to find some music, I came across a Tide to Go pen, YES! Goodbye coffee stain! I plucked my dress from my pile of whites and started stain fighting.

*Enter Mandi’s crazy thought process*

Wait a minute, my dress, that WAS white as snow, is stained. Jesus blotted out our “stains” with His blood, on the cross. Because of that we became pure, and white as snow. “Liiiiiightbuullllbbb…” (Despicable Me fans? Couldn’t resist…) JESUS IS LIKE A TIDE TO GO PEN! Despite the fact that He ultimately washed us of our sins when He died on the cross, we’re still imperfect. We still sin and end up staining our white garments throughout our lives. We have to go back to Him, repent of our sins, and ask for forgiveness. By no means am I saying that we should take advantage of His grace and forgiveness and use it as an excuse to sin or do whatever we want to, even when we know it’s wrong. I mean you wouldn’t purposely dump pasta down the front of your favorite article of clothing just so you could whip out that Tide to Go pen, would you? I didn’t think so… The Grace of Jesus, like Tide to Go, should be used as a “just in case…” We all still make mistakes, but He’ll always forgive us when we do. Keep Him with you at all times, but don’t sin just because He’s there to quickly blot out your “stains.” The difference? Tide to Go eventually runs out, the Grace of Jesus never will. (And Tide to Go smells kinda funny…. ha.)

And that is what the Grace of Jesus and Tide to Go have to do with each other!

Leave a Reply

