A Shepherd’s Guidance

Jesus, the Good Shepherd John 10:14  “And I will give you shepherds according to My heart, who will feed you            with knowledge and understanding.”
~Jeremiah 3:15

As I was moving right along through Jeremiah this morning, this verse stopped me. The first time it was only for a few seconds, I acknowledged the fact that it caught my eye, added a note, and continued on with my reading. It took me less than a chapter to go flipping back to it though. I read it again and again, and just couldn’t shake it. In addition to Jesus being our ultimate Shepherd to lead us through our journey while we’re here on earth, He’s telling us that He also gives us earthly shepherds (mentors) to help us to grow in our walk with Him and encourage us along the way. It gave me a chance to take a few minutes to reflect on those that have been, and continue to be, shepherds in my life. I’ve been blessed with so many incredible Godly people who are there to keep me going, help me grow and encourage me. I’m so thankful for each and every person that has been put into my life to guide me and help me to become all that I can be in my spiritual journey and my walk with God. I don’t know what I’d do without them. Just take a minute to think about everyone in YOUR life that has been a shepherd or mentor to you. Maybe say a little prayer for them, give them a call, hug them. Let them know how much you appreciate them and their encouragement! Even if they’re not with us anymore and they’ve gone onto Heaven, we know that they’re still watching over us and guiding us to this day.

One thought on “A Shepherd’s Guidance

  1. What an awesome thought! I’ve never really thought through the fact that Scripture tells us how important it is to have mentors… I’ve always had spiritual mentors in my life but it’s so cool to realize that every single one of them is chosen by God and placed in my life for a reason He has ordained. God Bless, Rebekkah

Leave a Reply

